In this article
A bursary is help with fees, based on your family's finances. Each school sets its own steps and dates. The table puts each school's bursary deadline next to its registration deadline, from the school's own pages. Where a school doesn't give a date, we say "not stated".
Bursary and registration deadlines, September 2027 entry
| School | 11+ registration closes | Bursary deadline | Bursaries can cover |
|---|---|---|---|
| Westminster School | Closed 30 Sep 2026 | Part A: 23 September in the year before entry; Part B: third Friday of January 2027 | Up to 100% of day fees |
| Hampton School | Sun 1 Nov 2026 | Same day | 10% to 100% |
| Guildford High School | Sun 1 Nov 2026 | Contact admissions before 1 November (assisted places) | Not stated |
| Highgate School | Wed 4 Nov 2026, noon | Same deadline; other documents by early December | Up to 100% |
| Latymer Upper School | Closed Mon 12 Oct 2026, midday | Same as registration; details in your Registration Confirmation | 25% to 100% |
| North London Collegiate School | Fri 13 Nov 2026, 4pm | Same day | Up to 100% |
| City of London School | Mon 2 Nov 2026 | Ask by Mon 2 Nov 2026; stage 1 form Tue 10 Nov 2026; stage 2 Mon 14 Dec 2026 | Up to 100%, plus extras |
| Dulwich College | Mon 2 Nov 2026, midday | End of November (no exact date) | Up to 100% |
| King's College School | Mon 2 Nov 2026, 12 noon | Wed 18 Nov 2026 | Up to 100% |
| Godolphin and Latymer | Fri 6 Nov 2026, noon | Fri 13 Nov 2026, noon | 10% to 100% |
| Haberdashers' Boys' School | Fri 6 Nov 2026 | Thu 19 Nov 2026 | 100% (a free place), or 50% to 95% |
| St Paul's Girls' School | Fri 6 Nov 2026, 9am | Early January 2027 (no exact date) | Up to the full published fees |
| James Allen's Girls' School | 10 Nov 2026 | 15 Nov 2026 | Up to 100% |
| Royal Grammar School Guildford | Closed Thu 15 Oct 2026 | Fri 27 Nov 2026 | 5% to 100% |
| Wycombe Abbey | Closed (1 June in the year before entry) | 1 September in the year before entry | Up to 100% |
| City of London School for Girls | Fri 30 Oct 2026 | Not stated; form sent once registration closes | Up to 100% |
| Alleyn's School | Fri 13 Nov 2026, midday | Not stated; form sent after you register | Up to the full cost of fees |
| St Albans School | Fri 13 Nov 2026 | Not stated; policy says "usually in December" | Up to 100% |
| Sevenoaks School | Closed 21 Sep 2026 | Not stated; apply at the confirmation stage | 5% to 100% |
| St Paul's School | Closed Fri 16 Oct 2026 | Not stated; tick the box when you register | 2% to 100% |
Percentages are of fees (tuition fees at some schools), as each school words it.
Hampton's registration and bursary applications both close on Sunday 1 November 2026.
What the table shows
Only Westminster sets a bursary form deadline before registration closes. Its policy says Part A is due by 23 September in the year before entry, one week before the 30 September registration deadline.
At Hampton, Highgate, North London Collegiate School and Latymer Upper School the bursary deadline is the same as registration. Guildford High School's pages ask for registration "before 1 November" and for assisted-place enquiries "prior to 1 November", so we count that as the same deadline too.
At the other nine, the full form comes later: from five days later at James Allen's Girls' School to three months later at Wycombe Abbey. City of London School still lists a "registration deadline for bursary applications" of Monday 2 November 2026, before its stage 1 form on Tuesday 10 November 2026.
Before you register
- Tick the bursary box. Westminster, City of London School, City of London School for Girls, Dulwich College, St Albans School, St Paul's School and St Paul's Girls' School say you ask for a bursary when you register. City of London School says it can't consider a bursary later if you don't. City of London School for Girls says the same if you don't complete the form it sends after registration closes. Westminster and St Paul's School have already closed 11+ registration for September 2027 entry, so for them this applies to the next round.
- Gather papers early. At Hampton, Highgate, North London Collegiate School and Latymer Upper School the bursary application is due by the registration deadline.
- Watch for a second date. At Alleyn's School and City of London School for Girls, the bursary form comes after you register, and the school's pages give no deadline for it.
These dates are for 11+ entry in September 2027, from each school's own pages. They can change, so confirm with the school before you rely on them.
Questions parents ask
How much can a bursary cover?
At 19 of the 20 schools, the school's pages say a bursary can reach 100% (of fees, tuition fees or day fees, depending on how the school words it). Guildford High School says the level is "unique to each application". Some add more on the largest awards: Dulwich College adds lunches, bus travel where applicable and a uniform allowance on a full bursary.
My child is in Year 5. Is anything due soon?
Wycombe Abbey's bursary forms are due on 1 September in the year before entry, and Westminster's Part A on 23 September in the year before entry. Check each school's guide for its next cycle.
Sources
Each school's own admissions and bursary pages, checked on 23 October 2026:
- City of London School: 11+ entry
- City of London School: Transformational Bursaries
- Dulwich College: Year 7 entry (11+)
- Dulwich College: bursaries
- Hampton School: join the Senior School
- Hampton School: Free Places and bursaries
- North London Collegiate School: joining the Senior School
- North London Collegiate School: bursaries
- Latymer Upper School: joining at 11+
- Latymer Upper School: bursary additional information
- St Albans School: our admissions process
- St Albans School: assistance with fees (bursaries)
- St Albans School: Bursary Policy (PDF)
- Alleyn's School: Senior School 11+
- City of London School for Girls: 11+ admissions
- City of London School for Girls: bursaries
- Godolphin and Latymer: 11+ entry
- Godolphin and Latymer: bursaries
- Guildford High School: key admissions dates
- Guildford High School: admissions process
- Guildford High School: scholarships and bursaries
- Haberdashers' Boys' School: admissions process
- Haberdashers' Boys' School: fee assistance
- Highgate School: joining at 11+
- Highgate School: 11+ bursaries
- Highgate School: admissions
- James Allen's Girls' School: apply
- James Allen's Girls' School: bursaries
- King's College School: 11+ entry
- King's College School: fees
- Royal Grammar School Guildford: Senior (ages 11-18) admissions
- Royal Grammar School Guildford: assistance with fees
- Sevenoaks School: Year 7 assessment and preparation
- Sevenoaks School: how to apply for Year 7
- Sevenoaks School: Financial Assistance with Fees Policy (PDF)
- St Paul's Girls' School: bursaries
- St Paul's School: important dates for 11+
- St Paul's School: Founder's Awards (bursaries)
- Westminster: 11+ entry
- Westminster: Bursaries Policy (PDF)
- Westminster: bursaries and scholarships
- Wycombe Abbey: admissions
- Wycombe Abbey: bursary policy
Spotted something out of date? Tell us and we'll check it.